top of page

NFA | Class 3 Dealer in Charleston, SC

Obtaining a Title II Weapon

The National Firearms Act of 1934 (NFA) defines a number of categories of regulated firearms. These weapons are collectively known as NFA firearms and include the following:

Types of NFA Firearms

Machine Gun

This includes any firearm which can fire more than 1 cartridge per trigger pull. Both continuous fully automatic fire and "burst fire" (i.e., firearms with a 3-round burst feature) are considered machine gun features. The weapon's receiver is by itself considered to be a regulated firearm. A non-machinegun that may be converted to fire more than one shot per trigger pull by ordinary mechanical skills is determined to be "readily convertible", and classed as a machine gun, such as a KG-9 pistol (pre-ban ones are "grandfathered").


Short-Barreled Rifles (SBRs)

This category includes any firearm with a buttstock and either a rifled barrel at least 16" long or an overall length under 26". The overall length is measured with any folding or collapsing stocks in the extended position. The category also includes firearms which came from the factory with a buttstock that was later removed by a third party.

Short-Barreled Shotguns (SBSs)

This category is defined similarly to SBRs, but with either a smoothbore barrel at least 18" long or a minimum overall length under 26".


This includes any portable device designed to muffle or disguise the report of a portable firearm. This category does not include non-portable devices, such as sound traps used by gunsmiths in their shops which are large and usually bolted to the floor.

Please reload

bottom of page